Impressive August

During August I lived plenty of experiences. Work and live in an art center has good and bad things. On the one hand you can be part of different activities, discover new methodologies to create art, meet international artists but, on the other hand, everyone needs a private space and some personal time.

Volunteer in IDEJU MĀJA

My name is Dimitrios Sarigiannidis and for the next year I will be working as a volunteer for IDEJU MĀJA in Aizpute, Latvia!

Aizpute – Town of Adventures

  We are slowly getting to the half of our short-term EVS in Aizpute. For both of us it is very different experience compare to what are we living in our lifes in France and Czechia. The local life is much slower and closer to nature, most of the people don‘t know other languages than latvian, but here in SERDE we are meeting very various personalities of artists.
  All of that is, of course, quite challenging and the time of two months is not really long so it needs to think about logistics! Sometimes we need to wake up all our ability to make fun of any situations as our stay turned out as Aizpute want us to experience a lot in those two months. We got a robbery and stomach virus as well as we gained some kind of ability - or more unability to wash our laundry, since we are here, any washing machine haven‘t worked longer than one week. And much more. Come and ask! But let’s say, What’s not gonna kill us, makes us stronger and we are trying to keep that as our motto!

New challenge

 I'm Giuseppe Aquaro and I'm a normal south italian guy. I come from a family with not a very good economic situation.
My dad is a metalworker in layoff, my mum is a housewife and help old people to earn a bit of money for us, I'm the oldest
of three sons. This situation was holding me back to do many things that for my peers are normal, one of these is travelling.
So I was working and studying, and with money that I earned I visited few places in the world. I like to travel and try new life
experiences, I think that it makes you understand what do you like and where you are, and this is “living the life”.I helped
to build a part of my countryside's house, gave food to my grandpa' s farm animals, worked in wineyard and in winery, in the
 restaurants, I worked with guys in  nuns oratory for many times but my profession is nurse and I like everything what is healthy:
sports, food and nature. Recently, I put myself at the service of nature in first line: I carry out cleaning of countryside streets and
rivalutation of my town's places. In Italy to be the nurse in a public hospital have to do public competitions with other nurses,
I made and passed many public competions but I'm only in a graded list and i'm waiting for the hospital to call me. I don't like to wait,
so I discover new experiences to fill my time and I went on EVS website to look for an experience for few months (because my
placement in the graded list isn't too far) but it wasn't easy,one day a saw this project in Latvia, a country that I've never seen
before. I saw the project but the desire to do something new was so big that I didn't care enough about the project. I just want to
take a challenge with me. I have always lived in Martina Franca, a nice town in Apulia. I have never been far from my town for such
a long time. I want to test myself again, and this is my challenge and I don't want be a loser.

Giuseppe Aquaro

Denis' EVS story

     

My journey to Latvia

I want to express my acknowledgements to NGO Miroir Vagabond which introduced me to NGO Compagnons Bâtisseurs and its activities. Thanks to them it was possible to spend 6 weeks in Latvia during my project. And I want to tell my gratefulness to people of Radi Vidi Pats particularly to Linda, Agata, Zura and Sanja. 

 After preparatory meeting with Anne-Sophie COLLARD from Compagnons Bâtisseurs I was interested by different topics of the project.

One of the previewed themes was cycling as sustainable type of transportation (in Liepaja it was very easy to use bicycle, they are everywhere there).

Other things that I liked a lot were activities in Youth house, renovation of building of RVP and working in bio farm.

Moreover during this journey I travelled a lot that let me to discover new countries and new cultures.

ErasmusEN

AgencyEN